Yes, that’s right – I give you a recipe/rough guide to use all the dregs of flour you have hanging around. Too little spelt for a sourdough starter? In it goes – along with that rye flour meant for god-knows-what and the remains of the plain (AP) stuff that won’t be enough for a sponge cake. You get the idea. 

Waste Not, Want Not etc etc.

Having to buy bread was a reality forgotten to me. At no point in twenty years had I ever thought ‘must get a sliced white’. Being without a familiar kitchen and the comfort thereof had me facing supermarket bakery…

Now, I don’t want anyone to think me a bread snob – through choice I bake my own as I like it that way. The crumb, the crust and the flavour are better IMO. Do what you need (or have) to do.

With an oven again at my disposal it’s time to finish off the remnants of a home baker’s store cupboard…

All in all 500g of flour ended up in this loaf along with a handful of pumpkin seeds I had found.

  • 500g flour – my mix of rye, white spelt, wholemeal, plain and strong white.
  • 350ml warm water
  • Handful of pumpkin seeds (or whatever)
  • 1tsp salt
  • 1tsp fast action yeast
  • 1tbsp vegetable oil
    A note to my former Landlord…

    So, get mixing. Then get kneading. I noticed a resistance with this dough that was likely the rye flour and spelt.

    Again, this dough might take a good while to rise due to lower gluten in the rye and spelt, but rise it will!

    Some arty slashes won’t go amiss either just before oven time.

    Still a favourite. Looks great, smells even better. Chewy crust with lots of flavour.

    Nothing I do in the kitchen gives anything like the satisfaction of baking bread. After all, it’s why I started this blog.

    Perhaps the time is here to get back to bread in all its brilliance – any thoughts on that?

    Thanks for reading + see you again soon @BBBB…

    Leave a comment